ATP World Tour Finals: Nole in group “Ivan Lendl“ with Raonic, Monfils and Thiem

Auto Draft

The star-studded Barclays ATP World Tour Finals is led by world no.1 and world no.2, Andy Murray and Novak Djokovic.

In his 10th appearance at the prestigious event, Novak will attempt to win a record-tying sixth title.

The world’s biggest indoor tournament begins on Sunday, November 13, at the O2 Arena in London, and will be played until November 20.

The best eight singles players and the best eight teams of the season will compete for the trophy. It is a round robin format with eight singles players divided in two groups of four.

This year the singles groups have been named after former champions of the year-end championships, John McEnroe (1978, 1983-84) and Ivan Lendl (1981, 1982, 1985, 1986, 1987).

Novak is placed in Group “Ivan Lendl“ with Milos Raonic, Gael Monfils and Dominic Thiem.

Group “John McEnroe“
1. Andy Murray (Great Britain)
3. Stan Wawrinka (Switzerland)
5. Kei Nishikori (Japan)
7. Marin Cilic (Croatia)

Group “Ivan Lendl“
2. Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
4. Milos Raonic (Canada)
6. Gael Monfils (France)
8. Dominic Thiem (Austria)

Nole’s head-to-head record against the participants:

Andy Murray 24-10
Stanislas Wawrinka 19-5
Milos Raonic 7-0
Kei Nishikori 10-2
Gael Monfils 13-0
Marin Cilic 14-1
Dominic Thiem 3-0

The winner of each group will be placed in separate semi-final brackets, with the top player in Group John McEnroe playing the runner-up in Group Ivan Lendl and vice versa.

For each Round Robin win players get 200 points, semi-final win brings 400 points, and the win in the finals is worth 500 additional points. Undefeated champion can earn 1500 points.

Djokovic won four matches last year. He beat Nishikori and Berdych in the group stage, then Nadal in the semi-finals and Federer in the final (6-3, 6-4), becoming the first player in history to capture four successive Barclays ATP World Tour Finals singles titles (2012-2015).

Nole clinched the title for the first time in 2008 when the tournament was held in Shanghai.

Share post