Novak wins second Laureus Sportsman of the Year award!

Laureus izabrao Novaka za najboljeg sportistu sveta!

Serbia’s world no.1 tennis player Novak Djokovic has been named the Sportsman of the Year at this year’s Laureus Sport Awards!

At the ceremony, staged at the world-famous Shanghai Grand Theatre on Wednesday, the 27-year-old tennis ace has won the top honour seeing off competition including stars like Lewis Hamilton (Motor Racing), Renaud Lavillenie (Athletics), Rory McIlroy (Golf), Cristiano Ronaldo (Football) and Marc Marquez (Motorcycling).

Novak was honoured for his remarkable 2014. He went 61-8, winning seven titles, including one major (Wimbledon), four ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments (Indian Wells, Miami, Rome, Paris), one ATP 500 event (China Open) and the season finale. Djokovic also reclaimed the no.1 spot in the ATP Rankings on July 7.

Laureus izabrao Novaka za najboljeg sportistu sveta!

Novak was presented with the Laureus award statuette by HSH Princess Charlene of Monaco in Monte-Carlo, where he’s been competing at this week’s Masters 1000 event.

“This is probably the crown of my 2014 season that was highlighted with winning Wimbledon, regaining No.1 in the world and becoming a father. It has probably been my best year so far in my life,” Djokovic said. “I achieved great results, but I have to say I wouldn’t be where I am today, if it wasn’t for my team and their support. I owe the credit to them. I would like to thank Laureus, the institution which brings sports legends together and cares about young people around the world. Sport has inspired and motivated many of us, it is the language we all understand and love. Sport often encourages children to exercise and dream. Competition is not only to win trophies and medals, it’s a form of personal empowerment that helps individuals reach their full potential and also results in better societies as a whole”.

The Awards were announced in seven categories: Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Team of the Year, Breakthrough of the Year, Comeback of the Year, Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability, Action Sportsperson of the Year.

The nominees were selected by the Laureus Media Selection Panel, consisting of leading sports editors, writers, broadcasters and online journalists from around the world. The winners were chosen by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury, made up of 50 of the greatest living sportsmen and sportswomen.

Novak won the prestigious award for a second time. He was previously voted 2011 Sportsman of the Year in February 2012.

List of winners:

2015 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2014 Sebastian Vettel (Formula 1)
2013 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2012 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2011 Rafael Nadal (Tennis)
2010 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2009 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2008 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2007 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2006 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2005 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2004 Michael Schumacher (Formula 1)
2003 Lance Armstrong (Cycling – rescinded)
2002 Michael Schumacher (Formula 1)
2001 Tiger Woods (Golf)
2000 Tiger Woods (Golf)

Largely considered “the Oscars of sports”, the Laureus World Sports Awards are given annually since 2000 to sportspeople who have been outstanding during the previous year.

Proceeds from the Laureus World Sports Awards directly benefit and underpin the work of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, which supports more than 150 community sports projects in 34 countries. Since its inception, Laureus has raised over €60 million for projects which have improved the lives of millions of young people through the use of sport.

Photos: Getty Images

Share post