The 2019 Australian Open official draw took place at Margaret Court Arena on Thursday.

Novak, a record-equaling six-time AO titlist, is no.1 seed and will open campaign against American qualifier Mitchell Krueger (ATP #231) on Tuesday at 19:00 local time (09:00 CET).

In the second round, Djokovic will play against the winner of the match between 2008 runner-up Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA, WC) and Martin Klizan (SVK).

The earliest seed he could face is no.25, Denis Shapovalov (CAN), in round three.

Novak’s potential rivals in the later stages of the tournament:

Fourth round: Daniil Medvedev (RUS, 15), David Goffin (BEL, 21)
Quarter-finals: Kei Nishikori (JPN, 8), Fabio Fognini (ITA, 12)
Semi-finals: Alexander Zverev (GER, 4), Dominic Thiem (AUT, 7), Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI)
Final: Rafael Nadal (ESP, 2) Roger Federer (SUI, 3), Kevin Anderson (RSA, 5), Marin Cilic (CRO, 6), Karen Khachanov (RUS, 10)

Novak has won six of his 14 Grand Slam titles in Melbourne (2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016).

Last year, he suffered a 6-7 (4), 5-7, 6-7 (3) fourth-round defeat to Hyeon Chung of South Korea.

The year’s first Grand Slam tournament starts on January 14.

Share post