ATP World Tour Finals: Nole in Group B with Del Potro, Federer and Gasquet

Završni turnir u Londonu: Nole u grupi B sa Federerom, Del Potrom i Gaskeom!

By reaching the 2013 Wimbledon final in July, Novak qualified for the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals for the seventh year in a row.

The world’s biggest indoor tournament begins on Monday, November 4, at the O2 Arena in London, and will be played until November 11.

The best eight singles players and the best eight doubles teams of the season will compete for the season finale trophy and 1500 ATP pts.

It is a round robin format with eight players divided in two groups of four.

Novak is placed in Group B, with Juan Martin del Potro, Roger Federer and Richard Gasquet.

The defending champion and no.2 seed will open his campaign on Tuesday at 20.00 local time (21.00 CET) against the Swiss.

Group A
1. Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2. David Ferrer (Spain)
3. Tomas Berdych (Czech Republic)
4. Stanislas Wawrinka (Switzerland)

Group B
1. Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2. Juan Martin del Potro (Argentina)
3. Roger Federer (Switzerland)
4. Richard Gasquet (France)

Nole’s head-to-head record against the participants:

Rafael Nadal 16-22
David Ferrer 11-5
*Juan Martin Del Potro 10-3
*Roger Federer 14-16
Tomas Berdych 14-2
Stanislas Wawrinka 13-2
*Richard Gasquet 9-1

The winner of each group will be placed in separate semi-final brackets, with the top player in Group A playing the runner-up in Group B and vice versa.

For each Round Robin win players get 200 points, semi-final win brings 400 points, and the win in the finals is worth 500 additional points. Undefeated champion can earn 1500 points.

The world no.2 won all five matches at the prestigious tournament last year. He beat Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Andy Murray, Tomas Berdych, Juan Martin Del Potro and Roger Federer 7-6 (6), 7-5 in the final, becoming the ninth player to win the World Tour Finals at least twice. He defeated Nikolay Davydenko for the 2008 title in Shanghai.

Nole (2 titles-2008 and ’12) and Roger (6 titles-2003, ’04, ’06, ’07, ’10 and ‘11) are the only participants of this year’s Finals who have won the competition at least once.

Photo: Getty Images

Share post