Brilliant Nole beats Federer to clinch 17th ATP Masters 1000 title!

Fantastični Novak srušio Federera i osvojio 42. titulu u karijeri, prvu u sezoni!

Nole is the 2014 Indian Wells Masters champion!

World no.2 Novak Djokovic captured the BNP Paribas Open title for the third time coming back from a set down to beat Roger Federer 3-6, 6-3, 7-6 (3) in two hours and 12 minutes on Sunday.

En route to his 42nd career trophy, Novak also defeated Victor Hanescu, Alejandro Gonzalez, Marin Cilic, Julien Benneteau and John Isner.

The 26-year-old Serb previously won titles in Indian Wells in 2008 and 2011. He is second, behind Federer, on the all-time tournament leaderboard, joining Jimmy Connors, Michael Chang and Rafael Nadal who also have three crowns.

Roger and Novak split the first two sets. The second seed had a break advantage in the third, and was serving for the win at 5-4, but the Swiss broke back and forced a tie-breaker. Djokovic dominated from the beginning. He sealed it 7-3 to capture his first title in 2014.

“It was a proud achievement. It was not just winning the trophy but the way I came back from a set down in a couple of matches. That gives me a lot of confidence,” Novak said on his performance in Indian Wells.

Match statistics: aces (6-6), double faults (5-6), winners (28-34), unforced errors (28-34), total points won (99-98).

Novak has now won 17 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 titles (17-10 in finals), and is tied with Andre Agassi at third place on the leaders list.

He improved to a 12-2 season record and a 16-17 mark in the H2H series against Federer.

Nole next heads to Miami for the second Masters 1000 tournament in 2014, the Sony Open Tennis, where he won titles in 2007, 2011 and 2012.

The two-week combined event is taking place from March 19-30, at Crandon Park, Miami. Singles main draw will take place on Monday at noon (17.00 CET).

Photo: AP

Share post