The star-studded Nitto ATP Finals is led by world no.1 and world no.2, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic.

In his 12th appearance at the prestigious event, Novak will attempt to win a record-tying sixth title. He lifted the ATP Finals trophy in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015.

The world’s biggest indoor tournament begins on Sunday, November 10, at the O2 Arena in London, and will be played until November 17.

The best eight singles players and the best eight teams of the season will compete for the trophy. It is a round robin format with eight singles players divided in two groups of four.

This year the singles groups have been named after Andre Agassi and Bjorn Borg.

The draw ceremony has been made on Tuesday afternoon. Novak is placed in Group Bjorn Borg with Federer, Thiem and Berrettini.

Djokovic will play his first match in London against Matteo Berrettini on Sunday, November 10, at 14:00 local time (15:00 CET).

Group Andre Agassi
1. Rafael Nadal (Spain)
4. Daniil Medvedev (Russia)
6. Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece)
7. Alexander Zverev (Germany)

Group Bjorn Borg
2. Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
3. Roger Federer (Switzerland)
5. Dominic Thiem (Austria)
8. Matteo Berrettini (Italy)

Nole’s head-to-head record against the participants:

Rafael Nadal 28-26
* Roger Federer 26-22
Daniil Medvedev 3-2
* Dominic Thiem 6-3
Stefanos Tsitsipas 2-2
Alexander Zverev 3-2
* Matteo Berrettini 0-0

The winner of each group will be placed in separate semi-final brackets, with the top player in Group Andre Agassi playing the runner-up in Group Bjorn Borg and vice versa.

For each Round Robin win players get 200 points, semi-final win brings 400 points, and the win in the finals is worth 500 additional points. Undefeated champion can earn 1500 points.

Novak will be looking to finish the year as world no.1 for the sixth time (having achieved the feat in 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2018).

Share post