The star-studded Nitto ATP Finals is led by world no.1 and world no.3, Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer.

In his 11th appearance at the prestigious event, Novak will attempt to win a record-tying sixth title. He lifted the ATP Finals trophy in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015.

The world’s biggest indoor tournament begins on Sunday, November 11, at the O2 Arena in London, and will be played until November 18.

The best eight singles players and the best eight teams of the season will compete for the trophy. It is a round robin format with eight singles players divided in two groups of four.

This year the singles groups have been named after players from the 2000s, Gustavo Kuerten and Lleyton Hewitt.

The draw ceremony was made on Monday night. Novak is placed in Group Guga Kuerten with Alexander Zverev, Marin Cilic and John Isner.

Djokovic will play his first match in London against John Isner on Monday, November 12, at 20:00 local time (21:00 CET).

Group Guga Kuerten
1. Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
3. Alexander Zverev (Germany)
5. Marin Cilic (Croatia)
8. John Isner (USA)

Group Lleyton Hewitt
2. Roger Federer (Switzerland)
4. Kevin Anderson (RSA)
6. Dominic Thiem (Austria)
7. Kei Nishikori (Japan)

Nole’s head-to-head record against the participants:

Roger Federer 25-22
*Alexander Zverev 1-1
Kevin Anderson 7-1
*Marin Cilic 16-2
Dominic Thiem 5-2
Kei Nishikori 15-2
*John Isner 8-2

The winner of each group will be placed in separate semi-final brackets, with the top player in Group Guga Kuerten playing the runner-up in Group Lleyton Hewitt and vice versa.

For each Round Robin win players get 200 points, semi-final win brings 400 points, and the win in the finals is worth 500 additional points. Undefeated champion can earn 1500 points.

Novak will finish the year as world no.1 for the fifth time (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2018), as the season is over for Rafael Nadal due to right ankle injury.

Photo: ATP World Tour

Share post