Impressive Novak wins record fifth title in Indian Wells!

Impresivni Novak osvojio rekordnu petu titulu u Indijen Velsu!

Brilliant Nole captured a record fifth BNP Paribas Open title!

World no.1 and top seed Novak Djokovic looked at his imperious best in the Indian Wells final against 12th seed Milos Raonic on Sunday afternoon.

The Serbian tennis star dominated from start to finish in a flawless 77-minute 6-2, 6-0 victory, extending his perfect ATP H2H mark against the Canadian to 6-0.

Novak broke twice in the first set and three times in the second, having denied his opponent a single break point opportunity. He was 9/10 on net approaches.

Match statistics: aces (2-4), double faults (1-2), winners (15-16), unforced errors (4-27).

En-route to the final Nole beat Bjorn Fratangelo, Philipp Kohlschreiber, Feliciano Lopez, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Rafael Nadal.

“It has been a great couple of weeks,” said Nole. “To win this tournament five times is a fantastic achievement for my team and I. We don’t take anything for granted, especially because this tournament has been, for many, many players, a favorite tournament. All the top players each year competing and trying to win it. Players are very welcome. The spectators are sharing their passion and love for the sport with us, and in this kind of environment you are obviously inspired to play your best.”

Djokovic had previously lifted the trophy in the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in 2008, 2011, 2014 and 2015. The emphatic win on Sunday saw him equal Rafael Nadal’s record of winning 27 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 titles. It is his 62nd career trophy, third in 2016.

Next tournament for Novak will be the Miami Open presented by Itaú from March 23 to April 3. The five-time titlist beat Andy Murray in the 2015 final 7-6, 4-6, 6-0.

The singles draw ceremony takes place on Monday at 17:00 CET.

Photo: Getty Images

Share post