Novak top seed at Wimbledon!

Auto Draft

This year’s Wimbledon Championships seedings for the tournament have been announced on Wednesday.

The men’s seedings are headed by world number two and 2011 champion Novak Djokovic, followed by Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray and Roger Federer.

To determine the 32 seeds, Wimbledon uses a formula that rewards players for their grass-court achievements.

The All England Club’s formula takes a player’s ATP ranking as of the week before Wimbledon, adds all points earned on grass in the previous 12 months and includes 75 % of points earned for the best grass-court event in the 12 months before that.

Top 8 seeds in the Gentlemen’s draw:

[1] Novak Djokovic (SRB)
[2] Rafael Nadal (ESP)
[3] Andy Murray (GBR)
[4] Roger Federer (SUI)
[5] Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI)
[6] Tomas Berdych (CZE)
[7] David Ferrer (ESP)
[8] Milos Raonic (CAN)

The most prestigious tennis event in the world begins on Monday, June 23, at the All England Club, and concludes with the men’s singles final on July 6.

Last year, Novak finished runner-up to Andy Murray (4-6, 5-7, 4-6).

The Gentlemen’s Singles Draw for The Championships will be made on Friday at 11am CET (10am local time).

Photo: Getty Images

Share post