Shanghai: Nole vs Dimitrov in R2

2012 Shanghai Rolex Masters draw ceremony was held on Saturday.

The ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event is taking place from October 7-14.

Fifty six players will take part. Eight seeds (1-8) get BYE in the first round. Novak is no.2 seed and will open his quest for his 13th Masters title in the second round against world no.56 Bulgarian Grigor Dimitrov who beat Spaniard Pablo Andujar 7-5, 6-3.

It will be their first career meeting. Match is scheduled on Wednesday about 16.00 local time (10.00 CET).

Djokovic’s possible opponents in the later stages of the tournament are:

3rd round: Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER, 16), Feliciano Lopez (ESP)
Quarter-finals: Janko Tipsarevic (SRB, 6), Nicolas Almagro (ESP, 9), Mikhail Youzhny (RUS)
Semi-finals: Tomas Berdych (CZE, 4), Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA, 5), Milos Raonic (CAN, 12)

Roger Federer (SUI, 1), Andy Murray (GBR, 3), Juan Monaco (ARG, 7), John Isner (USA, 8)… are in the other half of the draw.

Novak didn’t play Shanghai last year due to injury. He reached semi-finals in 2009 and 2010.

The 25-year-old Serbian star won Tennis Masters Cup title at Shanghai Qi Zhong Stadium in 2008 (def. Davydenko).

Full Draw:

Roger Federer [1] – Bye
Ze Zhang [WC] – Qualifier
Denis Istomin – Carlos Berlocq
Stanislas Wawrinka [13]  – Albert Ramos

Marin Cilic [10]  – Qualifier
Martin Klizan – Thomaz Bellucci
Fernando Verdasco – Go Soeda
Juan Monaco [7] – Bye

Andy Murray [3] – Bye
Florian Mayer – Bernard Tomic
Alexandr Dolgopolov – Jeremy Chardy
Gilles Simon [15] – Jurgen Melzer

Richard Gasquet [11] – Qualifier
Lleyton Hewitt [WC] – Radek Stepanek
Kevin Anderson – Jarkko Nieminen
John Isner [8] – Bye

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga [5] – Bye
Benoit Paire – Qualifier
Marcos Baghdatis – Fabio Fognini
Milos Raonic [12] – Qualifier

Kei Nishikori [14] – Wu Di [WC]
Sam Querrey – Zhe Li [WC]
Andreas Seppi – Qualifier
Tomas Berdych [4] – Bye

Janko Tipsarevic [6] – Bye
Mikhail Youzhny – Victor Troicki
Tommy Robredo – Qualifier
Nicolas Almagro [9] – Tommy Haas

Philipp Kohlschreiber [16] – Ryan Harrison
Feliciano Lopez – Alejandro Falla
Grigor Dimitrov – Pablo Andujar
Novak Djokovic [2] – Bye

Photo: Getty Images

Share post