World No.1 Novak Djokovic was named the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year for the fourth time in a ceremony in Monaco on Monday.

Serbia’s Djokovic beat Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1 world champion), LeBron James (NBA great), Luka Modric (FIFA World Cup Golden Ball winner), Kylian Mbappé (FIFA best young player) and Eliud Kipchoge (world marathon record holder) for the top men’s award.

The 31-year-old Belgrade native also earned Sportsman of the Year honours in 2012, 2015 and 2016.

Nole was at the famous “Salle des Etoiles”, part of The Sporting Club Monte Carlo, to accept his award.

“A Laureus Award is what every athlete wants to win, and this one is a huge honour for me. Being among so many sporting greats here tonight… gives this award a special meaning for me,” said Djokovic. “Last year was an incredible season for me. Returning from injury to win Wimbledon and the US Open is something I’ll remember forever.”

Novak was honoured for his remarkable 2018. He went 53-12, winning four titles (two Grand Slams – Wimbledon and US Open, and two Masters 1000 events – Shanghai and Cincinnati). Djokovic also claimed historic W&S Open crown to become the first singles player to achieve Career Golden Masters.

After an elbow surgery in January and falling to no.22 in June, Novak made a tremendous rise in the second half of 2018 and impressive return to world no.1.

The Awards were announced in seven categories: Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Team of the Year, Breakthrough of the Year, Comeback of the Year, Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability, Action Sportsperson of the Year.

The winners were chosen by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury, made up of 66 of the greatest living sportsmen and sportswomen.

List of winners:

2019 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2018 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2017 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2016 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2015 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2014 Sebastian Vettel (Formula 1)
2013 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2012 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2011 Rafael Nadal (Tennis)
2010 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2009 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2008 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2007 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2006 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2005 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2004 Michael Schumacher (Formula 1)
2003 Lance Armstrong (Cycling – rescinded)
2002 Michael Schumacher (Formula 1)
2001 Tiger Woods (Golf)
2000 Tiger Woods (Golf)

Largely considered “the Oscars of sports”, the Laureus World Sports Awards are given annually since 2000 to sportspeople who have been outstanding during the previous year.

Thanks to the support of its partners, Academy Members and Ambassadors, Laureus Sport for Good Foundation now supports over 160 projects in more than 40 countries, helping to change young lives for the better.

You can download Nole March desktop calendar here.

Photo: Fonet/AP

Share post