Nole is the 2024 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year!

World No.1 Novak Djokovic was named the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year for the fifth time in a ceremony in Madrid on Monday, matching Roger Federer’s record as the most decorated male sportsman in this category.

The prestigious Laureus Awards celebrated its 25th edition at the Cibeles Palace.

Many of the biggest names from the world of sport, past and present, were there to honour the greatest sportsmen, sportswomen and teams from 2023.

Djokovic previously clinched the award in 2012, 2015, 2016 and 2019. His exceptional performance in 2023, highlighted by seven titles including three Grand Slam trophies (Australian Open, Roland Garros and US Open), two Masters 1000 crowns, an ATP 250 tournament – Adelaide International 1, and the Nitto ATP Finals, earned him another nomination and recognition. Novak was also a Wimbledon finalist and finished the year as the world’s top-ranked player for the eighth time.

The Serbian star beat Max Verstappen (Formula 1), Lionel Messi (Football), Erling Haaland (Football), Noah Lyles (track and field) and Armand Duplantis (pole vault) for the top men’s award.

The Awards were announced in seven categories: Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Team of the Year, Breakthrough of the Year, Comeback of the Year, Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability, Action Sportsperson of the Year.

The winners were chosen by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury, made up of 69 of the greatest living sportsmen and sportswomen.

List of winners:

2024 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2023 Lionel Messi (Football)
2022 Max Verstappen (Formula 1)
2021 Rafael Nadal (Tennis)
2020 Lionel Messi (Football) and Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1)
2019 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2018 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2017 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2016 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2015 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2014 Sebastian Vettel (Formula 1)
2013 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2012 Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
2011 Rafael Nadal (Tennis)
2010 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2009 Usain Bolt (Athletics)
2008 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2007 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2006 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2005 Roger Federer (Tennis)
2004 Michael Schumacher (Formula 1)
2003 Lance Armstrong (Cycling – rescinded)
2002 Michael Schumacher (Formula 1)
2001 Tiger Woods (Golf)
2000 Tiger Woods (Golf)

Largely considered “the Oscars of sports”, the Laureus World Sports Awards are given annually since 2000 to sportspeople who have been outstanding during the previous year.

Thanks to the support of its partners, Academy Members and Ambassadors, Laureus Sport for Good Foundation now supports over 300 projects in more than 40 countries, helping to change young lives for the better.

Photos: Profimedia

Share post