Serbia Open 2009: 19 names announced!

The organisers announced 19 names for Serbian Open on Tuesday night.

The new ATP World Tour 250 event, the first ATP tournament in the history of Serbia will be played at SRPC Milan Gale Muskatirovic in Belgrade from 2-10 May.

Along will world number 3 Novak Djokovic, there will be home players Viktor Troicki and Janko Tipsarevic, Czech Radek Stepanek, Russian Igor Andreev, Croats Ivo Karlovic and Ivan Ljubicic, Romanian Victor Hanescu, Italian Andreas Seppi, American Sam Querrey, Spaniard Marcel Granollers, Belgians Christophe Rochus and Kristof Vliegen, Frenchmen Arnaud Clement and Nicolas Devilder, Argentines Guillermo Canas and Leonardo Mayer, Chilean Nicolas Massu and Brasilian Daniel Marcos.

”It’s my honour to confirm that some best world tennis players will take part at ‘MGM’ tennis complex in May, along with Novak. They are delighted they’re coming to Belgrade and that they will have a chance to play at the first ATP tournament in the history of Serbia”, tournament director Goran Djokovic said.

There will be 28 players in the singles draw, three of which will get a WC, 4 will come from qualifications, and two will get SE invitation. There will be 16 pairs in the doubles.

The winner will get the Serbia Open prize € 73,000 and 250 ATP points.

Share post