Novak made history on January 27, 2013, by becoming the first man in the Open Era to win three successive Australian Open titles! He defeated no.3 seed Andy Murray 6-7 (2), 7-6 (3), 6-3, 6-2 and added the victory to his triumphs in 2008, 2011 and 2012 to tie the Open Era record for most titles in Melbourne with Agassi and Federer (4). Nole captured his 35th career trophy and sixth Grand Slam championship.

Nole continued his run of form in Dubai, where he won his fourth Dubai Duty Free Championships crown. He beat no.3 seed Czech Tomas Berdych in the final 7-5, 6-3.

Novak ended Rafael Nadal’s eight-year reign in Monte Carlo when he beat him in the finals 6-2, 7-6 (1) to win his first title at the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 clay court event, and became the only player to capture eight different Masters crowns.

Nole won a record fourth China Open title with a 6-3, 6-4 victory over Rafael Nadal in the finals of the ATP World Tour 500 event in Beijing. A week later, Djokovic won his 15th ATP World Tour Masters 1000 trophy and second Shanghai Masters crown beating Juan Martin del Potro 6-1, 3-6, 7-6 (3) in the final.

Nole became the 15th player in the Open Era to win 40 ATP titles, when he beat David Ferrer 7-5, 7-5 in the BNP Paribas Masters final.

By defending his crown at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals (b.Nadal 6-3, 6-4), Novak became the seventh player who won the year-end championship at least three times.

In late December Novak captured his third Mubadala World Tennis Championship in a row, ousting David Ferrer in straight sets 7-5, 6-2. The ATP world no.2 maintained his unbeaten record in Abu Dhabi and became the first player to win three crowns.

Share post